Six of the nation’s best make the final list for high school football’s biggest individual award


The U.S. Army All-American Bowl Selection Committee today announced its list of six finalists for the prestigious U.S. Army Player of the Year Award. The award is given annually to the nation’s most outstanding high school senior football player, and is the most prestigious individual award given in high school football.

The U.S. Army Player of the Year will be recognized during the U.S. Army All-American Bowl Awards Show on Friday, Jan. 6, 2017 in San Antonio, Texas.

“The six Player of the Year finalists are a diverse group of student-athletes with unique strengths and talents, much like the Soldiers who make up our Army team,” said Mark S. Davis, deputy assistant secretary of the Army for marketing. “We congratulate these six finalists and look forward to the winner’s announcement on Jan. 6 during the U.S. Army All-American Bowl Awards Show.”

The 2017 U.S. Army Player of the Year finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

Cam Akers  |  RB  |  Clinton, MS  |  Clinton High School
Eno Benjamin  |  RB  |  Wylie, TX  |  Wylie East High School
Najee Harris  |  RB  |  Antioch, CA  |  Antioch High School
Richard LeCounte  |  DB  |  Riceboro, GA  |  Liberty County High School
Tate Martell  |  QB  |  Las Vegas, NV  |  Bishop Gorman High School
Jaelan Phillips  |  DL  |  Redlands, CA  |  Redlands East Valley High School

The selection process began this fall as players were evaluated by the U.S. Army All-American Bowl Selection Committee—consisting of All American Games and its official selection partner, 247Sports—and by coaches from across the country. Past U.S. Army Player of the Year Award winners include Kevin Jones (2001), Lorenzo Booker (2002), Adrian Peterson (2004), Jimmy Clausen (2007), Terrelle Pryor Sr. (2008), Dorial Green-Beckham (2012), Elijah Hood (2014), Martez Ivey (2015), and Jacob Eason (2016).

For 17 consecutive years, the U.S. Army All-American Bowl has been the nation’s premier high school sporting event, serving as the preeminent launching pad for America’s future college and NFL stars. Odell Beckham Jr., Andrew Luck, Patrick Peterson, Adrian Peterson, Ezekiel Elliott, and Christian McCaffrey made their national debuts as U.S. Army All-Americans. A total of 330 U.S. Army All-American Bowl alumni have been selected in NFL Drafts. The 2016 U.S. Army All-American Bowl drew a crowd of 39,121 to the Alamodome and was watched by more than 4 million unique viewers across the country.

The U.S. Army All-American Bowl presented by American Family Insurance is owned and produced by All American Games, a New Jersey-based sports marketing and event management company.

For more information on the U.S. Army All-American Bowl and its related events visit,, and Connect with all #ArmyBowl activity at, or at the official Twitter (@ArmyAllAmerican) and Instagram (@armyallamericanbowl) accounts.